Holiday Purchases

image1

One of the benefits to holidaying in the UK (and always going to the same place) is that I get to do day trips to the local towns and check out a bunch of different shops that I don’t normally have access to.  Most of the time this consists of following my wife around craft shops whilst trying to keep my daughter entertained and preventing her from picking up anything expensive and breakable (my daughter not my wife).

Luckily there is a trade-off to this and they understand that as we walk around town I will disappear into every charity shop I see and make a bee-line for their DVD section to rummage around for games I don’t currently own.  Sometimes this can be highly productive (for example last year I picked up Resident Evil Survivors (PS1), Maximo vs. Army of Zin (PS2), Just Cause (PS2), Prince of Persia Sands of Time, The Two Thrones, and Warrior Within (PS2) for less than a tenner #win!

Unfortunately this year wasn’t quite so productive (although we were only away for a week and I didn’t get to check out the local car boot sale) but I still managed to pick up a couple of games for the collection – Mission: Impossible (PS1) for £2 and Die Hard Vendetta (XBO) for £1.  In addition to this I finally relented and picked up the NES Classics Playing with Power hardcover book in the NES Cartridge style slip case for £10 from The Works (rather than the £24.99 rrp).  I’ve seen this book around a few times at a similar price point (TK Maxxx and The Works near where I live also I think) and have played with the idea of picking it up but never did.  I had a look through the book when we got back to our accommodation and it’s beautifully presented and contains loads of information on the specific games it covers but very little on the system itself unfortunately.  The big disappointment for me with the book was that the paper used for the internal pages was of a quite flimsy stock which gives the whole book a feeling of fragility when looking through it.  Aside from this minor gripe I like the book and it makes a nice companion piece for the Nintendo Classic Mini and I’m sure I’ll refer to it often when I get round to opening mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

