Super Mario Bros (NES) – Playlog 5

Super_Mario_Bros._box

  • Difficulty – NA
  • Current Playtime – 7 hours 20 mins
  • Finished (NOT in a single play through)

 

I knew I wasn’t going to be playing my best when I failed at the first jump in 1-1, hit the side of a block and nearly died from contact with the first Goomba.

As it is, I didn’t actually get hit and lose my Fire Flower until the start of 8-2 – I managed to avoid the Spiny’s on the way up the first hill but collided with the Lakitu at the top – FML.  Luckily I didn’t die and managed to make it to 8-3 before I did actually die (hit by first bullet – WTF!!!) ultimately getting to 8-4 with 4 lives remaining – not my best attempt but not too shabby either.

I still hate Hammer Bros… I lost 3 of my 4 lives at the Hammer Bro before Bowser on this playthrough (soooo close to the end in one run!) with the other life being lost to collision with a random Cheep-Cheep).

After this I decided to boot up my previous save state at 8-4 with 6 lives and practice the level – after a while I think I may have found a trick to consistently deal with the Hammer Bro before Bowser.  I tried it 3 times and out of that 2 of the attempts worked and the third failed due to my apparent inability to jump properly on occasion despite keeping run held down throughout the entirety of my run.  On my second successful attempt to get past the Hammer Bro with the trick I managed to get past Bowser and win the game by dodging the fireballs/hammers and running under him when he jumps… seems a bit easier than trying to time the hammers and jump over him.

Leave a comment